NameProject/Research Interests
Frank Wood
Frank Wood
Associate Professor
Canada CIFAR AI Chair at Mila
fwood@cs.ubc.ca
Ali Nasseri
Ali Nasseri
Group Manager
Nov 2019 - present
ali.nasseri@ubc.ca
Alexander Mead
Research Associate
May 2022 - present
meada@cs.ubc.ca
Probabilistic Programming, Astrophysics, Machine Learning
Andreas Munk Headshot Photo
Andreas Munk
PhD Student
Sep 2018 - present
amunk@cs.ubc.ca
Methods in probabilistic programming for bayesian inference and model learning
Data-centric Manufacturing
Intel Parallel Computing Centre
Christian Weilbach
Christian Weilbach
PhD Student
Sep 2018 - present
weilbach@cs.ubc.ca
Planning as probabilistic inference
Saeid NadeiParizi
Saeid Naderiparizi
PhD Student
Sep 2019 - present
saeidnp@cs.ubc.ca
Probabilistic programming to scientific simulators rejection sampling
Data-centric Manufacturing
Intel Parallel Computing Centre
Vaden Masrani
Vaden Masrani
PhD Student
Sep 2019 - present
vadmas@cs.ubc.ca
Thermodynamic variational inference
(supported by the NSERC PGS D and BC Graduate Scholarship)
Vasileios Lioutas
PhD Student
Sep 2020 - present
vlioutas@cs.ubc.ca
MITACS Accelerate Fellowship with Inverted AI on autonomous vehicle technologies
Will Harvey Headshot Photo
Will Harvey
PhD Student
Sep 2018 - present
wsgh@cs.ubc.ca
Attention in neural networks
(supported by the UBC 4YF Award)
Jason Yoo
Jason Yoo
PhD-Track MSc Student
Sep 2020 - present
jasony97@cs.ubc.ca
DARPA Data Driven Discovery Models (D3M)
Automated machine learning (AutoML)
(Supported by a BC Graduate Scholarship)
Ryan Fayyazi
Ryan Fayyazi
PhD-Track MSc Student
Sep 2020 - present
rfayyazi@cs.ubc.ca
Program induction of synaptic learning rules in C. elegans.
Justice Sefas
PhD-Track MSc Student
Sep 2021 - present
jsefas@cs.ubc.ca
MITACS Accelerate Fellowship with Inverted AI on autonomous vehicle technologies
Yunpeng (Larry) Liu
PhD-Track MSc Student
Sep 2021 - present
yunpengl@cs.ubc.ca
MITACS Accelerate Fellowship with Inverted AI on autonomous vehicle technologies
Matthew Niedoba
PhD-Track MSc Student
Jan 2022 - present
mniedoba@cs.ubc.ca
MITACS Accelerate Fellowship with Inverted AI on autonomous vehicle technologies
Boyan Beronov
PhD Student
Sep 2018 - present
beronov@cs.ubc.ca
Numerical information geometry
Jonathan Wilder Lavington
PhD Student
Sep 2018 - present
jola2372@cs.ubc.ca
Probabalistic reinforcement learning
(Co-supervised by Mark Schmidt)
Autonomous vehicles (MITACS Accelerate Fellowship with Inverted AI)
Xiaoxuan Liang
PhD Student
Sept 2022 - present
xiaoxuan.liang@student.ubc.ca
Andrew Smith
Administrative Support
May 2022 - present
asmith28@mail.ubc.ca